2017 isn’t close to being over yet…

… but so far it’s been a wild ride, the last couple of months especially.  And not all in a good way.  I’m at this point right now where things have kind of dropped into a lull and I can actually catch my breath and reflect.  I’ve had a lot of fun and adventures so far, but I also got caught up in some bad situations.  I don’t regret them, they were some amazing, wonderful, cherished experiences, but I regret the way they happened and the damage they caused.  And I’m not completely unscathed.  Some of that damage hit me, which I don’t regret, because I was allowing myself to be vulnerable and in the moment.  I was just a little TOO in the moment at times, and wasn’t thinking about 2nd and 3rd order of effects.  Am I completely responsible for everything that went down?  No.  But I was involved and people were hurt and that sucks and I’ll carry some guilt around for that for awhile.  In hindsight, there was probably a better way things could’ve played out.

Works been crazy.  Weird politics to the point where I’m consulting with a lawyer this week to make sure I’m doing everything I can to protect myself.  A longer relationship ended.  Family drama.  Friend Drama.  Normal life stuff, just seems like a lot of it compressed into a smaller period of time than normal.

But there’s been a lot of good, and that’s what I’m focusing on.  Motorcycle trips.  Mountain escapes.  New friends, old friends.  Romance and sexcapades.  Good food, beer and wine.  Great whiskeys.  New towns and the sights that go with them.  Lots and lots of photography.  Growth of skills.  New exposure.  The photography exhibit.  This book project.  Time with the Boy.  Live music, good plays.  Dad’s recovery from his bout with prostate cancer.

Interesting to be in this spot.  A couple weeks out of the break-up, wounds aren’t just scabbed over, the scar tissue is forming.  In a slight lull in the battles at work.  In between hormonal teen outbursts at home from the kid.  Not on the road, just in my space at home with the dog and the Boy when he’s around.

Leave a Reply

