Day 8

Mom, Dad and I (mainly Mom and I behind Dad’s back) had decided that I’d stay home with Dad on Day 8 while she went to work.  When I woke up on the morning of Day 8 he and I went for a walk.  The two things he’d been told to do were walk and drink a lot of water.  I got home at about 1:00am and was supposed to walk with him at 6am.  I wasn’t totally with it, but we went and did and it was pretty much a non-event.  But when we got home, mom told me that while I’d been gone, he’d gotten pretty sick and spent a fair bit of time vomiting the night before.  So she’d called work and told them she was taking the day off.  The argued at first, so she told them she’d retire then if she needed to.  After that, they decided maybe she could have the day off after all.

Since Mom was going to be home and Dad was feeling a lot better, I was kind of unneeded.  But I couldn’t take off, we decided we’d make a judgement call on Friday (Day 9) about whether or not I should stick around.  My friend was still in town, so I picked them up and we went up to downtown Gilbert, Az for brunch.  Snooze is a restaurant that started in Denver and has spread to Az and California.  It’s one of my favorite restaurants, but it’s really hard to get into on the weekends, so I decided to take advantage of the week day to get in.  It was great, as expected.  After that we wandered a bit and I dropped them off.

Dad was doing good that day.  Was sitting up a lot more, we went for a couple more walks and things went well.  So it was a pretty uneventful day.  Caught up on reading, napped and decided that if he continued to feel well, I’d head up to Page, Az to try to make the most out of my trip.  I’ve always wanted to photograph the Horseshoe Bend.  So I made reservations in Kayenta and Albuquerque for my return trip.

Leave a Reply

