So I’ve got that going for me…

This is probably going to sound a little whiny, but that’s not how it’s intended.  This is more just a “Dear Diary” type post for me to remember things later.

I’m a huge Costco fan.  I like the cheap gas, I like wandering around when it’s raining or storming outside or I’m bored but too lazy to come up with something better to do.

A couple of years ago I was wondering through the closet one to me and it was right after the tax refund came and they had a killer deal on a Yamaha stereo receiver.  I convinced myself that I needed it.  It had HDMI inputs!  And a remote!  And a front jack so I could plug my MP3 player into it!

That one lasted about six months and then died.  So I took it back and got a replacement, a slightly newer model that cost a little more.  Which again, lasted about six months and then died.  Costco wouldn’t swap this one out, so it just sat there, powered on but not generating any sound for almost a year.  Finally I got sick of it, and how long it took me to do anything about it, and disgust got me to shopping for a new receiver last week.  Originally I was just looking online for a used one through Craigslist, but then ended up getting one new from BestBuy.

I plugged that sucker in and got it hooked up to the TV and was promptly amazed by how well I was able to hear and understand things.  I knew my hearing has been failing as a result of way too much time playing with explosives, heavy machinery and guns, but this is just another sign of how bad it’s getting.  I’m catching myself favoring one ear over the other lately in conversation and now realizing that I’m catching so much more dialog at lower volumes with the stereo hooked up to the tv vs. just through the tv’s tinny, higher pitched speakers is another sign.  I’m slowly steeling myself for the hearing aids which I think are coming sooner rather than later.

I got my eyes checked a couple years ago and the optometrist and I were talking about changes in contacts, glasses, lens technology, surgeries, etc.  And we were talking about bi-focals and he said that in the old days, when he was first starting out, the common advice used to to wait until after you actually needed them until you got them because then you’d be so happy to be able to see clearly at both near and far distances that inconvenience of the bi-focal lens didn’t matter as much.  I think it’s kind of the same thing with hearing aids.  That point of being able to hear clearing outweighing any inconvenience and pride is fast approaching.

 

Leave a Reply

