Fun?

A webhosting company got on my bad side this month.  I’ve been in my new company for a little over two years and my boss, who knew where all the bodies were buried recently quit.  A couple of weeks ago, a co-worker asked me if I knew anything about a certain website that I’d never heard of before.  Turns out, several years ago, we bought this site from a different company and were supposed to transfer the content to our main site but never did.  I found the domain name info, found where it was pointing to and attempted to reach out to that provider.  That’s where the problem started.  This hosting company has no inbound number listed.  Anywhere.  Not on their site, not in forums, google it and nothing comes up.  They want to force you to use their online ticketing system.  Which, to me, sucks.  If my revenue generating site is down and I’m bleeding money, I expect to be able to pick up the phone and call someone.

So I sent in a ticket.  They tried to call me.  But because they don’t want inbound calls a) they come up as anonymous and b) they don’t leave a message to tell you they called.  So  you get mad because you don’t get a response and send another ticket.  And they snarkily answer that they DID call, but you didn’t answer.  They won’t setup a scheduled time (like RIGHT NOW) to call you back again, they do it at their own convenience.  So this nonsense went on for two days.  Then they tell me that they’re not going to be working the next business day and will call me the day after.  There’s a weekend in between there, so my site has now been down for at least six days with no resolution.  No call.  No call.  So I start blasting them on social media and instantly get a rude call from the owner, who then starts mocking me and berating me, then threatens to hang up on me because I’m “abusing” him.  At no point did I call him a bad name, did I raise my voice, anything.  All I did was express my dissatisfaction with their lack of service and unwillingness to help me resolve the situation.

So now what?  Well, we finally got it resolved a different way.  We hit the internet’s way-back machine, found an archived copy of the content, and have started to migrate it to our main site.  But, petty as it may sound, I foresee myself screwing with these guys on social media for days (if not weeks or months) to come.  It’s just a nice, safe outlet for frustrations.

Why did you need to know this?  You didn’t.  It’s just a placeholder to capture more thoughts about the blog post I want/need to write.  More pieces are coming together.

Leave a Reply

