Two of My Favorite Quotes On Bravery

The first is from The Guns of Navarone by Alistair MacLean:

“There are no brave men and cowardly men in the world, my son. There are only brave men. To be born, to live, to die—that takes courage enough in itself, and more than enough.

We are all brave men and we are all afraid, and what the world calls a brave man, he too is brave and afraid like the all rest of us. Only he is brave for five minutes longer.”

and from the movie Angus:

Grandpa: Superman isn’t brave.

Angus: Did you take your pills this morning?

Grandpa: [chuckles] You don’t understand. He’s smart, handsome, even decent. But he’s not brave. No, listen to me. Superman is indestructible, and you can’t be brave if you’re indestructible. It’s people like you and your mother. People who are different, and can be crushed and know it. Yet they keep on going out there every time.

One thought on “Two of My Favorite Quotes On Bravery

  1. You nailed two of my favorites ~ that most people don’t know. (When Angus opens the box and finds the tux…with the note…lord, I lose it every damn time.)

    People think I’m fearless, but it’s just the opposite. I’m the bravest person I know because I’m afraid of EVERYTHING.

    Thanks for these.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

